block print tova

block print tova 2013

This was one of my first pieces using the Wiksten Tova sewing pattern. Using the same cotton voile as the shibori version, I painted with Procion MX to create a watery ombre effect, then I used a string block to create a line texture. I cut the pieces before printing which made it a bit of a challenge to line up the printed bands across the bottom but overall I achieved the effect I wanted.

About amandawood

A contemporary embroiderer, dyer, and weaver full of admiration for Japanese textiles.

Leave a Reply

