salt peanuts

I’m working on the final surface design piece of the semester. The assignment is to create a compositional piece that uses layering and incorporates the idea of transformation. I decided transformation for me would be a form of abstraction.

I’m constantly drawn to geometric patterning and mid century modern aesthetics so it seemed natural to start there. I also wanted to draw on my own photographs and a colour palette from my environment.

The idea of incorporating movement and creating images from sounds like those heard in bebop was also part of my process. In the end I came up with two pieces. I like the simplicity of the shapes and processes and the movement that comes through in the layering.

(you can click on images to see larger versions)

About amandawood

A contemporary embroiderer, dyer, and weaver full of admiration for Japanese textiles.

Leave a Reply

