ikat

ikatcollage_2013I recently did a series of ikat studies. Choosing to use acid dye to create varying depths of shade in the wool weft and altering the amount I manipulated it in an overshot style, I created three pieces of varying visual texture. From random all over texture, to more precise ikat striping. The background is cotton weft and warp in a simple tabby structure.

To my six year old, the one in the middle looks like the reflection of a sun setting on water. I like the Rorschach quality of them.

As I was weaving them I was thinking about Surrealist photography,  Japanese kasuri weaving techniques and the innate qualities of the materials I was working with. It was interesting to consider how much effort should be exerted to created the image I wanted or should I just allow the materials to create their own unique random patterning? Apparently my obsession with Japanese textiles continues . . .

About amandawood

A contemporary embroiderer, dyer, and weaver full of admiration for Japanese textiles.

Leave a Reply

