jun tomita

jun_tomita_collage2I’m smitten with these weavings by kasuri weaving master, Jun Tomita. The way that a very simple colour palette and weave structure can be used to create such depth and warmth seems like magic to me. These pieces were part of a hotel renovation project in Japan called TEXTyle 118 rooms. A number of textile artists were commissioned to create artwork as part of a transformation of 118 hotel rooms. I was lucky to be able to see a copy of the publication that went along with it but I’m afraid I can’t read Japanese so I only have images and artist names.

About amandawood

A contemporary embroiderer, dyer, and weaver full of admiration for Japanese textiles.

Leave a Reply

