one answer to THE question

Becky Meyer  | Stephanie Symns  | Tessa McLeod  | Yuki Holland

The grad show is up and it’s amazing! I feel so lucky and proud to be part of this group. This is just a small sample of some of the brilliantly inventive weaving pieces.

I recently ran into someone I had considered a mentor at one point in my life. She was the first person who really saw me and appreciated my skill set when I finished university. She gave me a job in communications that was very supportive and rewarding for many years. I learned a lot of valuable skills as a production coordinator and I feel like it was a logical progression to take what I learned and translate it into textile design. When I told her what I was up to I could see the blank and confused look on her face. No doubt she was thinking “why would she throw it all away?”

So often I find it difficult to answer the question: “so what are you going to do now that you have graduated?” The answer is not straight forward or conventional. It mostly starts with a lot of stammering. Sometime it’s like answering pre-schooler questions like “why is the sky blue?”

If I had completed a medical degree, would anyone ask that question? But I feel like I need an answer so I started to do a bit of research to see if anyone else is in the same boat.  I came up with this article by Rena Tom and this one. I think that pretty much sums it up for me. I have seen the power of making and I’m a convert. It may not be easy to explain but maybe I can let my work explain it for me. On we go!

About amandawood

A contemporary embroiderer, dyer, and weaver full of admiration for Japanese textiles.

Leave a Reply

