summer scarves

14chartreusescarfcollageI  finally got an overcast day and a little time to take some photos of what I’ve been working on this summer. Inspired by my city and beach wanderings, I’ve been playing around with dyeing. Inviting imperfections and surprises has been new and uncharted territory for me. Knowing how the dye particles and fibre interact with each other, I’ve been playing with the things we usually don’t want – uneven colour, lines, blotches. The organic shapes I’m seeing in the urban landscape have become translated into soft, light cotton scarves of various sizes. I’m excited to share them in a few weeks at the Harmony Arts Festival Slow Clothes Fashion show and sale.

About amandawood

A contemporary embroiderer, dyer, and weaver full of admiration for Japanese textiles.

Leave a Reply

